Call the Leech Lake Chamber of Commerce for information on events, activities, and attractions near you!
Browse the Walker, MN business directory for restaurants, lodging, and stores near you.   


Discover the fun and beauty of the Leech Lake area, the best vacation destination in Minnesota. 800.833.1118
Discover the Leech Lake Area
View previous event
View next event

Arvig begins Search for Scholarship Applications

NEWS RELEASE                                                                                                                           FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

      January 10, 2017



Lisa Greene, Director of Marketing


150 Second Street SW | Perham, MN 56573

218.346.8294 |


Arvig Begins Search for Scholarship Applicants

PERHAM, MINN., JAN. 10, 2017—Arvig is pleased to announce three scholarship opportunities available to students who live within the Arvig service area: a $2,500 scholarship from the Foundation for Rural Service (FRS); $2,000 scholarship from the Minnesota Telecom Alliance (MTA) Foundation; and $3,000 from the Royale B. and Eleanor M. Arvig Memorial Scholarship.

Students and their parents can get more information and download applications at

Foundation for Rural Service

The FRS scholarship program was established to help further higher education opportunities among rural high school students. To be eligible for the $2,500 award, applicants must be a graduating high school senior whose family receives local telecommunications service from Arvig, and must indicate a desire to return to their rural communities once their collegiate studies have been completed. Applicants must be enrolled in an accredited two-year or four-year college or university, or vocational technical school, and have at least a C-grade-point average.

Completed applications for the FRS scholarship must be submitted to Arvig by February 17, 2017; any applications received after February 17 will not be accepted.

Minnesota Telecom Alliance Foundation

The MTA’s scholarship program is state-wide. Five $2,000 scholarships will be awarded to 2017 Minnesota graduating high school seniors. To be eligible, applicants must be attending post-secondary education at a university, college or technical college; be a Minnesota resident; and the applicant’s family must subscribe to at least one service from Arvig. Last year, four students from the Arvig service area were awarded MTA’s scholarship: Jason Carlson of Morgan, Megan Edelman of Akeley, Breanna Thompson of Sauk Centre, and Haley Warren of Ogema.

Completed applications for the MTA scholarship must be submitted to Arvig by February 24, 2017; any applications received after February 24 will not be accepted.

Royale B. and Eleanor M. Arvig Memorial Scholarship

Each year, one student from each of the 37 school districts within the Arvig service area is selected to receive the Arvig Memorial Scholarship of $3,000. Students are chosen based upon achievements or interest in the field of mathematics, engineering, accounting, computer science, telecommunications or any of the physical sciences, and must have at least a C-grade-point average.

The application deadline for the Arvig Memorial Scholarship varies by school. Students should contact their school counselor for more details and application materials.



2 Responses to Arvig begins Search for Scholarship Applications

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Newsletter Signup