Events

800.833.1118
Discover the Leech Lake Area

Blog

May 30, 2018

Dick’s Guide Service – dicksguideservice.com Last week we saw the water temps go from the mid to upper 50’s to the upper 60’s and even some 70’s in some of the shallow bays.  While some of the walleyes have moved off shore, others are still in the shallows especially in the evening or during the… More Info

May 25, 2018

What business was located at the Village Square site? Built in 1896, the Pameda/Patrick Henry Hotel was one of the first hotels built in Walker.  J.R. Fuller opened the DX Service Station in 1933.  Orville Ellis purchased the building in 1945 and opened the Texaco Service station.  His son Newell opened the Village Square restaurant,… More Info

May 24, 2018

On May 22nd, WHA Community Ed and the Walker Area Chamber of Commerce collaborated to host a Bikeable Community Workshop.  Walker was chosen as one of eight communities to host a workshop this year, workshops have been going on in the state  since 2011. Representatives from BikeMN, The Department of Health and MnDOT led the… More Info

May 23, 2018

Dick’s Guide Service  dicksguideservice.com This past week found walleyes showing up in the more traditional spots on the west side of the lake.  Although the wind and the bite was inconsistent those who were willing to move were rewarded.  Otter Tail, 2nd and 3rd  Duck, the Hardwoods,  Meadows, Star and Pine all had their times. … More Info

May 21, 2018

Did you know we had two railroad depots in Walker? The Minnesota &International Railroad crossed Shingobee Bay and followed the lakeshore into Walker. The depot and roundhouse were built in April of 1896.  Business was brisk as this was the end of the line until 1899.  The depot was located along the northside of Front… More Info


Facebook

June 21, 2018

Leech Lake Area Chamber of Commerce shared Bailey’ Read More

Subscribe